Reading · writing

Day 10- Reading While Writing?

I know, I know…if you’re writing anything then the chances are that someone has told you that you can’t write unless you first read. I think that is a true and fair statement. However, what you read is also really important.

For example, I am in the process of writing a science fiction novel and I find that the book that I’m reading right now is not helping me at all with it. In fact, I’m actually finding myself getting quite bored and aggravated while reading this book and it isn’t because it’s a bad book at all. I actually quite liked the book before I started writing this novel. I think this book just isn’t the right fit for me right now. I think I need to be reading something that inspires me to write.

Personally, since I am writing science fiction, I will probably pick up something that is fantasy next. I don’t want to read something that is in the genre that I’m writing for fear that my writing will become too similar to that of the author that I’m reading. With fantasy, it is still close enough in genre that I find myself inspired, but not close enough that I will sound too similar to any particular author.

I think the next book that I pick up will be the third book in the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy. I need to read the last book and I’m not sure why I picked up anything else before it!  After that, perhaps I’ll get a start on the Eon duology. I’ll pick up the book about Houdini once I’ve finished the first draft of my book. I think I’ll be able to appreciate it more then.

Does anyone else find this with their writing? It can’t just be me…

Current word count: 16,595

2 thoughts on “Day 10- Reading While Writing?

  1. That’s interesting. I can’t read fiction while I’m on a fiction-writing marathon (at least not within 24 hours or so of writing) but for me it has nothing to do with inspiration. My problem is style. I tend to leech the style I’m reading (a problem if it’s an author like Verne or Wells). Nonfiction doesn’t bother me though.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hmm…that’s interesting! I should try reading some nonfiction and see if that is better than what I’ve been doing! Thanks for sharing! I love reading about other people’s process!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

