writing

Writing…Oh Yeah…

I guess you can say that writing has come to a screeching halt for me. I got about half way through NaNoWriMo in November and I couldn’t do it anymore. This time though, it isn’t because my story wasn’t going anywhere. I think it’s actually the opposite. I am excited about the story I’m writing and I want to make sure that it’s done right. (I know, I know…there is no right way to write the first draft). But hear me out!

I feel like I just need to be in the right headspace to be writing and I don’t want to rush it too much. I think that if I rush the first draft too much, I really won’t want to come back and look at it ever again. It’ll be another case of “Oh yeah, I did finish the draft but it’s so awful that it isn’t worth looking at” and I don’t want that!

I have been doing research for the book though, so do not worry, I haven’t stopped altogether. I have been slacking though. I’ve been in a slump, and I think it has to do with my day job. I need to find a way to be motivated to write when I get home from work. If any of you work full time retail jobs though, the last thing you want to do when you get home is any kind of work. I can hear the dishes currently accumulated in my sink agreeing with that statement…

I guess this was just a little update on where I’m at in the writing process and why I didn’t finish NaNoWriMo this year.

I hope everyone is doing well and is taking care of themselves this holiday season!

-Jess

Leave a Reply

