Reading

Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake: Audiobook Review

Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake  Read by Amy Landon

This is another book that I listened to and I thoroughly enjoyed it! The narration I believe added to the story in this case and made it a more enjoyable story for me. Landon did a fantastic job narrating, projecting her voice in different ways when different characters were speaking, but in a positive way. Sometimes narrators can get carried away coming up with different voices, I’m so glad that wasn’t the case here.

41lkcy-ekdl-_sl300_

The story follows three young queens who were born triplets with different gifts. One queen is a fierce elemental (able to control weather and other elements), another is a poisoner (able to ingest the deadliest poisons without any effect), and the last queen is a naturalist (able to connect to and manipulate things like plants and animals). They are raised and trained apart from each other, leading up to the time when they will be set against each other to fight until there is one survivor to take over the throne and rule until another set of triplets is born.

I was immediately roped in by each of the girls’ stories and have found it incredibly difficult to choose a favourite. Every time I think I’ve decided which character is my favourite, I listen to another chapter and change my mind. (Now that I’m finished the book I think I know who my favourite might be, but of course, I can’t be sure…..)

The writing style is fantastic and I didn’t find the story to be predictable at all! (Which I actually loved). Throughout the story I had an idea of what I thought was going to happen, but was quite surprised and pleased that the story went in a different direction. (I’m terrible for always trying to guess what’s coming next and have ruined a lot of stories for myself).

When I started reading the book, I thought it was a standalone novel, I am SO happy that it isn’t and am impatiently awaiting the next instalment in the series!

Have you read Three Dark Crowns? What did you think? Are you excited for the next book?!

★★★★★ Overall

★★★★★ Narration

★★★★★ Plot

What to expect next:

picmonkey-collage-png

 

Leave a Reply

